Home Series Ratings - Quick View Excerpts Anxiously Awaiting Review Policy Disclosure Policy

Reviews of books in a series, with a focus on urban fantasy.
Other genres include mystery, paranormal romance, and crime thrillers.

Wednesday, February 4, 2009

Bone Crossed (Mercy Thompson Book 4) by Patricia Briggs

The fourth book in the series, Bone Crossed, was everything I was hoping it would be. There was lots of Stefan, lots of Adam, and even a little bit of Bran. Pretty much everyone made at least one appearance in this book. Even Mercy's mom.

We see Mercy dealing with the after effects of the rape, and we see Adam being very nurturing and patient. He's more patient with her than she is of herself, actually.

There was a resolution to the Adam or Samuel question in the last book, and in this book we watch the three of them get comfortable in their new role as boyfriend and friend.

And Mercy finally has to deal with the consequences of killing Andre. She knew Marsilia would find out eventually, now it's time to pay up. Mercy has some protection in the supernatural world, being that she is loved by three very powerful werewolves and is very good friends with some influential fae and a stronger than average vampire. But when the mistress of the local vampire seethe wants you dead, you should pay attention. And she does. As does Adam, Bran, Samuel, Stefan, Zee, and Uncle Mike.

You know what I want to see? I want Wulff's story, the vampire wizard guy. I hope Patricia Briggs gives us his story at some point.

But back to the review, I loved the scene in Mercy's martial arts class. And I really loved that Adam lets Mercy take care of herself so much in this book. He doesn't come rushing in to save the day. If he sees she can handle something, he lets her. And the opposite is true, too. When he does come rushing in to save the day, Mercy lets him. And instead of getting angry, actually thanks him. How nice to see two people capable of growing up and working towards making a relationship work. Thank you, Patricia Briggs.

I am going to give this book a 10 of 10, and will move the series up to a 10 of 10 as well.

Book Rating: 10 of 10
Series Rating: 10 of 10

The author hasn't given us a title for the next book in the series, nor an idea of when it might be out. The sister series, Alpha and Omega, has a book due to be released July 28. From what I can tell, that book is going to give us the story of how Bran makes the "werewolves are real" announcement to the humans. We already know a little bit of it, since the Mercy Series seems to be slightly ahead of the Alpha and Omega series as far as the timeline goes. The first Alpha and Omega book takes place during the first Mercy book, I wonder if the second Alpha and Omega will take place during the time frame of the second Mercy book. If so then we are a few books away from seeing Charles awakened to look up information on Amber.

Here are the books in both series:

Mercedes Thompson Series

Alpha and Omega Series:

Mercedes Thompson Series
1. Moon Called (2006)
2. Blood Bound (2007)
3. Iron Kissed (2008)
4. Bone Crossed (2009)
5. Silver Borne (2010?)

Alpha and Omega Series:
 . On the Prowl (Anthology)
1. Cry Wolf (2008)
2. Hunting Ground (July 2009)

No comments:

Post a Comment