Home Series Ratings - Quick View Excerpts Anxiously Awaiting Review Policy Disclosure Policy

Reviews of books in a series, with a focus on urban fantasy.
Other genres include mystery, paranormal romance, and crime thrillers.

Friday, July 24, 2009

Chaos Magic series by Jay Lygon

First, a few warnings about what this series is about, just in case the kink in this book doesn't happen to be your kink. This book is Yaoi BDSM, and it kind of creates a modern day pantheon of gods and goddesses. The ancient world had the God of Crops, the modern world has a God of Traffic.

Chaos Magic introduces us to the main characters, and helps us understand the mythologies (which aren't myths in the book, they are reality). There is BDSM, there is romance, there is worship.

Love Runes picks up where Chaos Magic leaves off, and things go much deeper into the inpersonal relationships and the mythologies created in this world.

And then we get to Personal Demons. Where Love Runes had Sam growing up and figuring things out, now it is time for Hector to come to terms with himself.

These books explore the difference in an abusive relationship vs a healthy BDSM relationship. They explore modern day spirituality against the backdrop of the spirituality that existed before Christianity took hold. And they explore some pretty intricate interpersonal relationships while they are at it.

Because of the combination of BDSM, issues explored, mythologies explored, and romance, the books and the series get a rating of 9 of 10 from me. And a heat level of 5 of 5.

Book Ratings: 9 of 10
Series Rating: 9 of 10
Heat Level: 5 of 5

1. Chaos Magic
2. Love Runes
3. Personal Demons

No comments:

Post a Comment