Home Series Ratings - Quick View Excerpts Anxiously Awaiting Review Policy Disclosure Policy

Reviews of books in a series, with a focus on urban fantasy.
Other genres include mystery, paranormal romance, and crime thrillers.

Saturday, November 6, 2010

Play of Passion (Psy-Changelings, Book 9) by Nalini Singh


I am in love with this series. Not every book in the series is a winner, but enough of them are that it's one of my favorites.

And Play of Passion  is one of the better books in the series. For several reasons:

  • Play of Passion takes place in the wolves territory, primarily in their den.
  • We already know (and like) both Indigo and Drew fairly well
  • It's the final book before Hawke's book, and there is a lot of set-up to prepare us for Kiss of Snow.

Here's the blurb:

Passion and reason collide with explosive force in the newest installment of Nalini Singh’s “mesmerizing”* Psy/Changeling series. As a conflict with Pure Psy looms on the horizon, two powerful wolves fight a far more intimate war of their own…

In his position as tracker for the SnowDancer pack, it’s up to Drew Kincaid to rein in rogue changelings who have lost control of their animal halves—even if it means killing those who have gone too far. But nothing in his life has prepared him for the battle he must now wage to win the heart of a woman who makes his body ignite…and who threatens to enslave his wolf.

Lieutenant Indigo Riviere doesn’t easily allow skin privileges, especially of the sensual kind—and the last person she expects to find herself craving is the most wickedly playful male in the den. Everything she knows tells her to pull back before the flames burn them both to ash…but she hasn’t counted on Drew’s will.

Now, two of SnowDancer’s most stubborn wolves find themselves playing a hot, sexy game even as lethal danger stalks the very place they call home…

As for the writing elements:
  • There are multiple plots running through the story. Primarily we have the romance between Indigo and Drew, and Nalini Singh manages to miraculously pull it off without either Indigo or Drew compromising their wishes, wants, needs, or principles. The ongoing plots surrounding Silence, the Psy, who rules San Francisco, The Council, etc. get ramped up several dozen notches, which also adds a lot to Play of Passion.
  • Pacing was well done. Perhaps a few small issues, but nothing major.
  • Nalini Singh's prose and dialogue are always exceptionally well done. Always. She's got such a way with the English language, the way she draws the world with words is awe inspiring.
  • Character development is also always well done with Ms. Singh, and again I have no complaints at all.
  • World building was consistent with other books in the series.
I noted that we are starting to get new character brought in, so we get to know them. Most of the main characters of the series are mated, so now we have the birds being introduced, as well as some of the younger members of the pack who are now approaching an age where they are old enough to mate.

Book Rating: Play of Passion: 10 of 10
Series Rating: Psy-Changelings: 10 of 10

Here are the books in the series:

  1. Slave to Sensation
  2. Visions of Heat
  3. Caressed By Ice
  4. Mine to Possess
  5. Hostage to Pleasure
  6. Branded by Fire
  7. Blaze of Memory
  8. Bonds of Justice
  9. Play of Passion (11/2/10) 
  10. Kiss of Snow

No comments:

Post a Comment