Home Series Ratings - Quick View Excerpts Anxiously Awaiting Review Policy Disclosure Policy

Reviews of books in a series, with a focus on urban fantasy.
Other genres include mystery, paranormal romance, and crime thrillers.

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, Book 2) by Patricia Briggs

Patricia Briggs is writing two series that are both set in the same world, though in different cities, with mostly different characters. We were first introduced to Mercy Thompson, and we learned of the Marrok in that series. The Marrok is the Alpha over the Alphas... he is the most powerful wolf in North America. The second series, the Alpha and Omega series, is centered around the Marrok's son and his mate Anna. Hunting Ground is technically the second book in this series, but the opening story was in an Anthology, and you absolutely must read that opening story in order to understand Anna.

In the past I've given the the Mercy Thompson series a 10 of 10, and the Alpha and Omega series a 7 of 10. However, Hunting Ground was good, much better than previous books in this offshoot series, but still not as good as the Mercy Thompson books.

Before I get much further, here is the blurb for Hunting Ground:

Mated to werewolf Charles Cornick, the son -and enforcer -of the leader of the North American werewolves, Anna Latham now knows how dangerous being a werewolf is, especially when a werewolf opposing Charles and his father is struck down. Charles's reputation makes him the prime suspect, and the penalty for the crime is execution. Now Anna and Charles must combine their talents to hunt down the real killer -or Charles will take the fall.

That doesn't tell us much, does it? Basically, there is a meeting in Seattle of the biggest Alphas from Europe, and most of them are against (very against) Bran's plan of outing the werewolves. Charles and Anna go to Seattle, and things get interesting. Very interesting. Think.... fae, vampires, Arthurian legends, trolls, and a powerful Grey Lord. I'm leaving some of the interesting things out since I don't want to give any spoilers, but you get the idea that this is about more than just werewolves, right?

Once again, I want to thank Patricia Briggs for showing us two grown ups who are working together (and.... gasp... communicating) in order to make their relationship work. What a refreshing change. Charles is old. Really old. And I believe Anna is his first real relationship. And Anna has her own issues with trust and partnership. But both of them are working at making this work. Plus, Anna is still learning about being a werewolf, and learning what it means to be an Omega. This is a powerful book, and I loved that Anna and Charles stop and talk to each other when things pop up.

I also loved that Anna is starting to come into her own in this book. She's figuring out who she is, and who she is not. Who she wants to be, and who she does not want to be.

I'm going to give Hunting Ground a 9 of 10, and I'll move the series rating up to an 8 of 10.

Book Rating: 9 of 10
Series Rating: 8 of 10

Ah, one more point. If you've read Patricia Brigg's story in the Strange Brew anthology, then you'll recognize some of the characters from that story in this book. It isn't necessary to have read the story, you won't be lost if you haven't. But if you have then you'll understand things a few pages sooner.

Here are the books in both series:

Mercedes Thompson Series

Alpha and Omega Series:

Mercedes Thompson Series
1. Moon Called (2006)
2. Blood Bound (2007)
3. Iron Kissed (2008)
4. Bone Crossed (2009)
5. Silver Borne (2010)

Alpha and Omega Series:
0 On the Prowl (Anthology)
1. Cry Wolf (2008)
1.5 Strange Brew (Anthology)
2. Hunting Ground (July 2009)

1 comment:

  1. Glad to hear you liked this one - wasn't too impressed with the first book but loved the story in the first anthology and bought this one hoping it was more along the lines of the short story. Can't wait to read it now.