Home Series Ratings - Quick View Excerpts Anxiously Awaiting Review Policy Disclosure Policy

Reviews of books in a series, with a focus on urban fantasy.
Other genres include mystery, paranormal romance, and crime thrillers.

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Indulgence in Death (In Death, Book 31) by JD Robb


Indulgence in Death runs a very close parallel to an earlier plot in this series, and it will lose a point for that.

Another problem here is that JD Robb's book listing page shows that Indulgence comes after Possession in Death, when it should be the other way around. That messed the continuity up for me, and it told me exactly who the killers were, before I read this book. It spoiled it for me in at least two ways.

With that being said, I enjoyed the beginning of the book, with Eve and Roarke on vacation. Eve is trying hard to learn the "marriage rules", and she does a good job of showing Roarke just how important he is to her, and just how much she understands him.

It is starting to bother me that Roarke is so involved with every one of her cases. For him to have his hand in all of the industries he does, plus spend the time he does on Eve's cases... sorry, but it's just not possible. It's taking the superman thing just a tad too far, for me.

Here's the blurb:

First it was a limo driver shot through the neck with a crossbow. Then it was a high-priced escort found stabbed through the heart with a bayonet.

Random hits, thrill kills, murderers with a taste for the finer things in life-and death-are making NYPSD Lieutenant Eve Dallas angry. And an angry Eve can be just as an efficient and dangerous predator as the killer.

As time runs out on another innocent victim's life, Eve's investigation will take her into the rarefied circle that her husband, Roarke, travels in-and into the perverted heart of madness...

As for the writing elements:
  • The plot was recycled.
  • Pacing had issues .
  • Prose and dialogue were excellent, though I had a few issues of not knowing whether Eve or Roarke was speaking.
  • Character development was nicely done.
  • World-building was consistent with previous books.
Indulgence in Death will get a 7 of 10 for me, for the reasons already stated.
    • Book Rating: Indulgence in Death: 7 of 10
    • Series Rating: 10 of 10

    1. Naked in Death
    2. Glory in Death
    3. Immortal in Death
    4. Rapture in Death
    5. Ceremony in Death
    6. Vengeance in Death
    7. Holiday in Death
    7.5  Midnight in Death
    8. Conspiracy in Death
    9. Loyalty in Death
    10.Witness in Death
    11. Judgment in Death
    12. Betrayal in Death
    12.5 Interlude In Death
    13. Seduction in Death
    14. Reunion in Death
    15. Purity in Death
    16. Portrait in Death
    17. Imitation In Death
    17.5 Remember When
    18. Divided in Death
    19. Visions in Death
    20. Survivor In Death
    21. Origin In Death
    21.5 Haunted in Death
    22. Memory in Death
    23. Born in Death
    24. Innocent In Death
    24.5 Eternity in Death
    25. Creation in Death
    26. Strangers in Death
    26.5 Ritual in Death
    27. Salvation in Death
    28. Promises in Death
    29. Kindred in Death
    29.5 Missing in Death

    30. Fantasy in Death
    31. Indulgence in Death
    31.5  Possession in Death
    32. Treachery in Death
    33. New York to Dallas

    No comments:

    Post a Comment