Home Series Ratings - Quick View Excerpts Anxiously Awaiting Review Policy Disclosure Policy

Reviews of books in a series, with a focus on urban fantasy.
Other genres include mystery, paranormal romance, and crime thrillers.

Saturday, November 12, 2011

New York to Dallas (In Death, Book 33) by JD Robb


New York to Dallas is the first book in this series to not have the "in Death" moniker. And the promise, this time around, is that Eve will find out more about her history. She has to go back to Dallas.

There were some things that were really good in this book. Her relationship with Roarke, of course, is one of the biggest. But also, the cops in Dallas welcomed her, treated her with respect, and didn't get in her way. She did her best to show respect back, of course.

Yes, she does discover something about her past. But it's a coincidence that she discovers it. A huge honking coincidence that is just a bit too constructed. Still, I suppose it went as well as it could.

Here's the blurb:

When a monster named Isaac McQueen—who was taken down by Eve back in her uniform days—escapes from Rikers, he has two things in mind. One is to pick up where he left off, abducting young victims and leaving them scarred in both mind and body. The other is to get revenge on the woman who stopped him all those years ago.

It's interesting, watching Eve out of her element. And we see Roarke as human again, which works for me. For a while he was too perfect. He's still got too much going on, there is no way one person can handle what he is supposed to be handling. But I'm not going to gripe about that too much.

As for the writing elements:
  • The plot was well constructed, and the story well put together as a road trip type story.
  • Pacing was better than most of the books in this series.
  • Prose was excellent, dialogue had issues where I couldn't tell who was talking.
  • Character development continues to astound me, even 33 full books and a lot of short pieces into the series.
  • World-building was consistent with previous books in this series.
 I've read this series straight through, starting with Naked in Death and ending with New York to Dallas. I have one more short story to go and I'll be caught up with the series, and waiting for Celebrity In Death which comes out in February. I think I was hoping for more resolution in this book than I got, but it was still a very good book. And really, how much resolution can there be? Ricker is in prison, and both Roarke and Eve's fathers are dead. Sure, there is probably someone still alive who was part of it, and I'm sure that eventually a case will lead Eve back so she needs to solve that old case in order to solve the present day case, but that will probably be a while. Maybe she'll be captain by then, even.
    • Book Rating: New York to Dallas: 10 of 10
    • Series Rating: 10 of 10

    1. Naked in Death
    2. Glory in Death
    3. Immortal in Death
    4. Rapture in Death
    5. Ceremony in Death
    6. Vengeance in Death
    7. Holiday in Death
    7.5  Midnight in Death
    8. Conspiracy in Death
    9. Loyalty in Death
    10.Witness in Death
    11. Judgment in Death
    12. Betrayal in Death
    12.5 Interlude In Death
    13. Seduction in Death
    14. Reunion in Death
    15. Purity in Death
    16. Portrait in Death
    17. Imitation In Death
    17.5 Remember When
    18. Divided in Death
    19. Visions in Death
    20. Survivor In Death
    21. Origin In Death
    21.5 Haunted in Death
    22. Memory in Death
    23. Born in Death
    24. Innocent In Death
    24.5 Eternity in Death
    25. Creation in Death
    26. Strangers in Death
    26.5 Ritual in Death
    27. Salvation in Death
    28. Promises in Death
    29. Kindred in Death
    29.5 Missing in Death

    30. Fantasy in Death
    31. Indulgence in Death
    31.5  Possession in Death
    32. Treachery in Death
    33. New York to Dallas
    33.5 Chaos in Death
    34. Celebrity In Death (Feb 2012)

    No comments:

    Post a Comment