Home Series Ratings - Quick View Excerpts Anxiously Awaiting Review Policy Disclosure Policy

Reviews of books in a series, with a focus on urban fantasy.
Other genres include mystery, paranormal romance, and crime thrillers.

Saturday, July 3, 2010

Mine to Possess (Psy-Changelings, Book 4) by Nalini Singh


The first three books of the Psy-Changelings series showed us couplings between a Psy and a Changeling - a difficult relationship when you consider the how emotional the changelings are, and how Silence has affected the Psy, leaving them closed off to all emotion.

I was wondering where Ms. Singh would go with the fourth book, Mine to Possess, as having more and more Psy come to the Changelings was going to make for difficult believability at some point in time. But I shouldn't have worried, book four opens the series arcs up that much more, introducing us to a whole new group of people, and in the process putting together a human and a changeling in a heartbreaking, and then heartwarming, story.

Here's the blurb:

Nalini Singh pulls away another dark layer of sheer desire, revealing passions unknown, in her latest novel about the world of the Psy. A ghost returns from a leopard changeling’s past, making him question everything—even his base animal instincts…

Clay Bennett is a powerful DarkRiver sentinel, but he grew up in the slums with his human mother, never knowing his changeling father. As a young boy without the bonds of Pack, he tried to stifle his animal nature. He failed...and committed the most extreme act of violence, killing a man and losing his best friend, Talin, in the bloody aftermath. Everything good in him died the day he was told that she, too, was dead.

Talin McKade barely survived a childhood drenched in bloodshed and terror. Now a new nightmare is stalking her life--the street children she works to protect are disappearing and turning up dead. Determined to keep them safe, she unlocks the darkest secret in her heart and returns to ask the help of the strongest man she knows...

Clay lost Talin once. He will not let her go again, his hunger to possess her, a clawing need born of the leopard within. As they race to save the innocent, Clay and Talin must face the violent truths of their past...or lose everything that ever mattered.

We've met Clay before, now we finally get to learn more about him. We get to know him, we hear about his childhood, we see why he is the way he is. We also meet a few new people, people who will further along the overall series arcs.

As for my usual rundown: plot (both the HEA plot and the series plots) are about as unique and intriguing as I've ever read. Pacing is good, and this is Nalini Singh so of course the prose and dialogue pull you into the story and make you feel what is going on, make you a part of what is happening. Character development is one of the cornerstones of this series, and continues to be written exceptionally well. Book four continues to do an excellent job of the world-building that was started in books one through three.

Mine to Possess receives the same rating from me as the first three books in this series -- a 10 of 10. The series is at a 10 of 10 after book 7, so I'll keep it there as I re-read each of the books in the series.

Book Rating: Mine to Possess: 10 of 10
Series Rating: Psy-Changelings: 10 of 10

Here are the books in the series:

  1. Slave to Sensation
  2. Visions of Heat
  3. Caressed By Ice
  4. Mine to Possess
  5. Hostage to Pleasure
  6. Branded by Fire
  7. Blaze of Memory
  8. Bonds of Justice
  9. Play of Passion (11/2/10) 

    No comments:

    Post a Comment