Home Series Ratings - Quick View Excerpts Anxiously Awaiting Review Policy Disclosure Policy

Reviews of books in a series, with a focus on urban fantasy.
Other genres include mystery, paranormal romance, and crime thrillers.

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Ceremony in Death (In Death, Book 5) by JD Robb


Ceremony in Death came very close to being an urban fantasy a few times.  I generally like Urban Fantasy, but not when it's handled in this manner.

I complained a bit that I knew who the killer was very early on in Rapture in Death. Things were handled much differently with Ceremony in Death. We knew who the killer was, but then doubts were cast and... in the end, knowing the killer or not wasn't the issue, it was watching the events unfold, watching Eve figure everything out.

Eve's history once again causes some problems with her objectivity. Watching her deal with it was interesting.

I enjoy watching Roarke take care of Eve, too. He's so intuitive with her, so in tune. It also doesn't hurt that he's got the money to pamper her in style. But that's the food, coffee, baths, and trips. What he does for her is so much more than that.

Here's the blurb:

With her husband, Roarke, watching her every move, Eve is drawn into the most dangerous case of her career. Every step she takes makes her question her own beliefs of right and wrong—and brings her closer to a confrontation with humanity’s most seductive form of evil.

I keep wondering if Roarke is ever going to try to protect her in a way that will change her, but I think he knows her too well to do that. He would love to put her in a glass box, but that would destroy her. She remade herself into a cop, he knows he can't change that.

As for the writing elements:
  • The plot was intricate and complicated and twisted and I enjoyed the journey from beginning to end.
  • Pacing was fine.
  • Prose and dialogue were, as always with this author, nicely done.
  • Character development continues to be interesting and three dimensional.
  • World-building seems to have been pretty solidified at this point in the series, but it was consistent and that's what is needed now.
I'm giving Ceremony in Death a 10 of 10, and keeping the series at a 9 of 10.
    • Book Rating: Ceremony in Death: 10 of 10
    • Series Rating: 9 of 10

      1. Naked in Death
      2. Glory in Death
      3. Immortal in Death
      4. Rapture in Death
      5. Ceremony in Death
      6. Vengeance in Death
      7. Holiday in Death
      8. Conspiracy in Death
      9. Loyalty in Death
      10. Witness in Death
      11. Judgment in Death
      12. Betrayal in Death
      13. Seduction in Death
      14. Reunion in Death
      15. Purity in Death
      16. Portrait in Death
      17. Imitation in Death
      18. Divided in Death
      19. Visions in Death
      20. Survivor in Death
      21. Origin in Death
      22. Memory in Death
      23. Born in Death
      24. Innocent in Death
      25. Creation in Death
      26. Strangers in Death
      27. Salvation in Death
      28. Promises in Death
      29. Kindred in Death
      30. Fantasy in Death
      31. Indulgence in Death
      32. Treachery in Death
      33. New York to Dallas 

      No comments:

      Post a Comment