Home Series Ratings - Quick View Excerpts Anxiously Awaiting Review Policy Disclosure Policy

Reviews of books in a series, with a focus on urban fantasy.
Other genres include mystery, paranormal romance, and crime thrillers.

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Vengeance in Death (In Death, Book 6) by JD Robb


This series is getting better and better. Vengeance in Death lets us see more or Roarke's past, and it includes a trip back to Ireland. Eve must process how she feels about is past, and figure out how that relates to his present. She was pretty much all black and white when the series started, now she's seeing shades of grey.

Here's the blurb:

Police Lieutenant Eve Dallas finds the first victim butchered in his own home. The second loses his life in a vacant luxury apartment. The two men had little in common. Both suffered unspeakable torture before their deaths—and both had ties to an ugly secret of ten years past—a secret shared by none other than Eve’s new husband, Roarke.

The events of this story hit way too close to home, and the pace is rather frantic. It needs to be, though. The events of the story call for it to be.

As for the writing elements:
  • The plot was beautiful. In a twisted and demented way.
  • Pacing was frantic, but as I said, the events of the book called for it to be frantic.
  • Prose and dialogue were fine.
  • Character development is a big part of things, as we learn a bit more about Roarke's past.
  • World-building was consistent with other books.
Vengeance in Death easily gets a 10 of 10, though the series will remain a 9 of 10 for me.
    • Book Rating: Vengeance in Death: 10 of 10
    • Series Rating: 9 of 10
    There is a lot more that I would like to say about Vengeance in Death, but I don't want to give spoilers. And it would be very easy to accidentally give a spoiler here. I want to talk about Summerset, in particular, but just can't.

      1. Naked in Death
      2. Glory in Death
      3. Immortal in Death
      4. Rapture in Death
      5. Ceremony in Death
      6. Vengeance in Death
      7. Holiday in Death
      8. Conspiracy in Death
      9. Loyalty in Death
      10. Witness in Death
      11. Judgment in Death
      12. Betrayal in Death
      13. Seduction in Death
      14. Reunion in Death
      15. Purity in Death
      16. Portrait in Death
      17. Imitation in Death
      18. Divided in Death
      19. Visions in Death
      20. Survivor in Death
      21. Origin in Death
      22. Memory in Death
      23. Born in Death
      24. Innocent in Death
      25. Creation in Death
      26. Strangers in Death
      27. Salvation in Death
      28. Promises in Death
      29. Kindred in Death
      30. Fantasy in Death
      31. Indulgence in Death
      32. Treachery in Death
      33. New York to Dallas 


      No comments:

      Post a Comment