Home Series Ratings - Quick View Excerpts Anxiously Awaiting Review Policy Disclosure Policy

Reviews of books in a series, with a focus on urban fantasy.
Other genres include mystery, paranormal romance, and crime thrillers.

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Kitty Norville Series by Carrie Vaughn

This is a series about a werewolf. Her name is Kitty Norville and she's a DJ at a radio station.

One night Kitty starts talking and taking phone calls instead of playing music, and before she knows it she is hosting a radio show that talks about supernaturals. As a werewolf she's pretty qualified to have such a show... but she doesn't tell her listeners what she is. At some point most of them figure she's probably some sort of supernatural something or other though, and that's part of the story.

There are four books in the series so far (plus two due out early next year) and the author manages to make each book take off in a different direction. It's not like one long story broken up into four books, though obviously there are some things that we have to wait from one book to the next to find out. Kitty grows stronger physically, mentally, and emotionally. And we get to hang on for the ride.

One of the books, Kitty goes to Washington, explores in depth how human society might deal with supernaturals coming out of the closet, so to speak. If humans suddenly had to deal with the fact that there were such things as werewolves and that a coworker or a neighbor or maybe even their doctor was one... how would they react? That is there in the other books in smaller amounts, but the second book takes a hard look at that in particular.

I didn't read these books for a while because the titles just didn't sound like something I would want to read. When I finally did get around to the series though, I enjoyed it. Kitty is her name, short for Katherine, and that was her name before she was turned into a werewolf. But yes, she hears more than once about the humor of a werewolf named Kitty.

This series has werewolves and vampires in it. And another sexy hitman who specializes in monsters. Not quite as scary as Edward from the Anita Blake series, but maybe a little more realistic.

Series Rating: 7

1. Kitty and the Midnight Hour (2005)
2. Kitty Goes to Washington (2006)
3. Kitty Takes a Holiday (2007)
4. Kitty and the Silver Bullet (2008)
5. Kitty and the Dead Man's Hand (February 2009)
6. Kitty Raises Hell (March/April 2009)

No comments:

Post a Comment